101: Brigades and Infantry Regiments after 1958

This entry was posted by Wednesday, 24 November, 2010
Read the rest of this entry »

The fur cap badge you shown is the cast brass version of that worm by the Royal Regiment of Fusiliers, it was commisioned by RHQ from a manufacturer in Pakistan, being delivered to the Tower of London in January 1980. It replaced a flimsiers truck brass version. The badge is now worn I’m shiny gold finished metal with silver coloured St George and wreath. The cast metal one is filled with resin and used as a plaid badge by the regiments Northumbrian Piper. The Fus Bde fur cap badge was a larger version of the wide flamed cap badge in shiny gold and silver coloured metal.

List of British Army regiments (1962)

This is a list of British Regular Army regiments after the Army restructuring caused by the 1957 Defence White Paper: many regiments were amalgamated between 1958-60. Further cuts and amalgamations took place in the 1960s and early 1970s.


Household Cavalry

Royal Armoured Corps

Heavy Cavalry

Light Cavalry

The Royal Tank Regiment

Combat Arms


The infantry in 1962 was divided into 15 separate brigades for administrative purposes:

  • Guards Brigade: Grenadier Guards, Coldstream Guards, Scots Guards, Irish Guards, Welsh Guards.
  • Lowland Brigade: The Royal Scots, King’s Own Scottish Borderers, Cameronians (Scottish Rifles) and Royal Highland Fusiliers.
  • Highland Brigade: The Black Watch, Gordon Highlanders, Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders and Queen’s Own Highlanders.
  • Home Counties Brigade: The Royal Sussex Regiment, Middlesex Regiment, Queen’s Royal Surrey Regiment and Queen’s Own Buffs.
  • Fusilier Brigade: Royal Northumberland Fusiliers, Royal Fusiliers (City of London Regt) and Lancashire Fusiliers.
  • East Anglian Brigade: 1st, 2nd and 3rd East Anglian Regiments
  • Forester Brigade: Royal Warwickshire Regiment (until November 1962), Royal Leicestershire Regiment, Sherwoord Foresters.
  • Mercian Brigade: Cheshire Regiment, Worcestershire Regiment, Staffordshire Regiment.
  • Welsh Brigade: Royal Welch Fusiliers, South Wales Borderers, Welch Regiment.
  • Wessex Brigade: Gloucestershire Regiment, Royal Hampshire Regiment, Devonshire and Dorset Regiment, Duke of Edinburgh’s Royal Regiment.
  • Lancastrian Brigade: The Loyal Regiment (North Lancashire), King’s Own Royal Border Regiment, King’s Regiment and Lancashire Regiment (Prince of Wales’s Volunteers).
  • Yorkshire Brigade: The Green Howards, Duke of Wellington’s Regiment, Prince of Wales’s Own Regiment of Yorkshire and York & Lancaster Regiment.
  • North Irish Brigade: Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers, Royal Irish Fusiliers, Royal Ulster Rifles.
  • Light Infantry Brigade: King’s Own Yorkshire Light Infantry, King’s Shropshire Light Infantry, Durham Light Infantry, Somerset and Cornwall Light Infantry.
  • Green Jackets Brigade: 1st Green Jackets (43rd and 52nd), 2nd Green Jackets (King’s Royal Rifle Corps), 3rd Green Jackets (Rifle Brigade).

In 1968 the administrative brigades were merged to form 6 administrative divisions. These were:

Foot Guards

Line Infantry


Leave a Reply